Miracle Fruit

Miracle Fruit

I’ve read about miracle fruit before, but it has been in the news recently and wanted to let people know about it. Miracle fruit (Sideroxylon dulcificum/Synsepalum dulcificum) is a red berry that grows on an evergreen tree native to Ghana. It grows wonderfully in Florida and also makes a great potted plant.

The cool thing about it is it changes your taste buds temporarily so that sour and bitter foods taste sweet! Lemons, limes, pickles, cheeses, dark beers, hot sauces- anything goes.

The best way to enjoy it is to put the berry in your mouth and swish it around your mouth for a minute or so, then chew the fruit part into a pulp and swish that around your mouth for a minute or so as well.

I will try to source some berries or seeds to offer through the seed exchange. If anyone has any leads please leave a comment.

~ by Mike on June 6, 2008.

5 Responses to “Miracle Fruit”

  1. lso how much do you charge for them.

  2. Hi I have Miracle fruit seeds if you interested please let me know. my conatact is 2epots@gmail.com

  3. Does anyone happen to know anyone that sells the actual fruit? or tablets in Jax? Thanks. (nevafuse@gmail.com)

  4. Miracle Fruit trees are hard to grow, so tablets are handy I guess. I have some trees see my site…

  5. I’d like to try to grow some of the Miracle Fruit from seeds. Please let me know if you still have seeds available.

Leave a Reply

 
