Exciting Organic Gardening Methods

Hello Jacksonville gardeners! The owner of this blog kindly asked me to write to you about some exciting new organic gardening methods I’ve been learning about.

I am no gardening expert. I probably have a brown thumb, but I wouldn’t know because I haven’t tried to grow anything since I was a kid, and that didn’t turn out so well. But when the winds of the economy began to shift I decided that I had better learn how to save some money, and one suggestion is to learn how to grow a garden.

My family has been eating healthy for years, so I knew I wanted to grow organically. But I also needed to watch the money spent so my method of growing had to give a good return in both land and input costs.

I had heard something about Mel Bartholomew’s Square Foot Gardening (click here) and while researching this I came across Jacob Mittleider’s method of gardening (click here). While Square Foot has some strengths, I believe Mittleider’s method is even stronger.

Mittleider’s method, called “poor man’s hydroponics,” lists these improvements over the traditional method of gardening:

  • Organic
  • High yield
  • Low weeds
  • Low water
  • Low cost
  • No tilling
  • Easy to learn
  • Works in almost any soil

A Mittleider garden

A Mittleider garden

Read more…

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

~ by Chris de Vidal on December 8, 2008.

3 Responses to “Exciting Organic Gardening Methods”

  1. Thanks for these gardening methods.

  2. I don’t know what happened, but in order to read the entirety of this article, you have to click on the title. I’ll contact the owner of this blog and see if we can’t get it fixed.

  3. […] Hello Jacksonville gardeners! The owner of this blog kindly asked me to write to you about some exciting new organic gardening methods I’ve been learning about. I am no gardening expert. I probably have a brown thumb, but I wouldn’t know because I haven’t tried to grow anything since I was a kid, and that didn’t turn out so well. But when the winds of the economy began to shift I decided that I had better learn how to save some money, and one suggestion is to learn how to grow a garden. My fa Gardening News […]

Leave a Reply

 
